Now it’s Chlorine

Searching for a way to access some tears that have been in my brain and distracting me this tsunami week, I even wince(d) while
reading Langston Hughes’ “Let America Be America Again”.
There’s got to be a way at those tears.
Finally, my eyes float in their socket- more than from their muscles, more like from a haunting.
Moving water and still water:
There is a saying of the Tao: “One can never
step in the same river twice.”
Laying in a bath of Epsom salts and glycerin, I can still find no way to those tears.

I can smell sulfur. This is from its’ percolation and dissolution into the water table through the winter- down- then into the pipes
that run water into the houses.
Instead, I find a group of words from Mary Oliver that make them no longer necessary:
“Each form sets a tone, enables a destiny, strikes a note in the universe unlike any other…I have made for myself, out of work and
love, a handsome life…And I did not give to anyone the responsibility for my life…And can do whatever I want to with it. Live it. Give it back, someday, without bitterness, to the wild and weedy dunes.”
pgs. 69 and 70-
And unfortunately not excerpted in Google Books, but you can read a good protion of the book there:
Author: Taopants

O' wanderer, the road is walking too. J.H. (sorta)

Leave a Reply

